Michael was appointed by the ACT government as Chair of the City Renewal Authority Canberra’s urban renewal advisory and urban policy authority.

The authority secretariat and board pro-actively advised the ACT government on design-led, people-focused urban renewal in the designated City Renewal Precinct and encouraged and promoted social and environmental sustainability.

Served, June 2017–June 2020.